HB 1588 Update

Posted: March 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

As many are aware, House Bill 1588 , a bill that would seriously hinder the private sale of firearms by compelling the seller to do a background check on the buyer and then pay a fee for filing the sale with police, will be voted on as early as tomorrow. The penalty for wantonly selling a second-hand piece of equipment to a friend or neighbor without filing the proper paperwork and saying ‘pretty please may I exercise my 2nd Amendment rights’ would be a gross misdemeanor charge, a fine of up to $5000, and possible jail time of up to 364 days. If that doesn’t sound quite right to you, here is a list of Washington State Representatives who, according to this article from redstate.com, are apparently still mulling this over:

Rep. Linda Kochmar (R, 30th LD) 

(360) 786-7898

Rep. Mike Hope (R, 44th LD) 

(360) 786-7892

Rep. Mark Hargrove (R, 47th LD) 

360) 786-7918

Rep. Steve O’Ban (R, 28th LD)

(360) 786-7890

Rep. Cathy Dahlquist

(360) 786-7846

Rep. Hans Zeiger (R. 25th LD)

(360) 786-7968

Rep. Drew MacEwen (R, 35th LD)

(360) 786-7902

Rep. Chad Magendanz (R, 5th LD)

(360) 786-7876
Rep. Maureen Walsh (R, 16th LD)

(360) 786-7836

Rep. Terry Nealey (R, 16th LD) 

(360) 786-7828

For those in Clark County, you might also try 17th LD Rep Monica Stonier, (360) 786-7994. If anyone actually gets through to her, post what her office has to say in the comments section below. One would think that a Representative from a swing district might be convinced to think twice about voting to turn her constituents into criminals. These things have a way of coming up during election cycles.

Advertisements
Comments
  1. Robert says:

    Supplying a felon with a gun is already illegal in Washington.

    RCW 9.41.080
    Delivery to ineligible persons.
    No person may deliver a firearm to any person whom he or she has reasonable cause to believe is ineligible under RCW 9.41.040 to possess a firearm. Any person violating this section is guilty of a class C felony, punishable under chapter 9A.20 RCW.

    RCW 9.41.040
    Unlawful possession of firearms — Ownership, possession by certain persons — Restoration of right to possess — Penalties.
    (1)(a) A person, whether an adult or juvenile, is guilty of the crime of unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree, if the person owns, has in his or her possession, or has in his or her control any firearm after having previously been convicted or found not guilty by reason of insanity in this state or elsewhere of any serious offense as defined in this chapter.
    (b) Unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree is a class B felony punishable according to chapter 9A.20 RCW.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s